More Links in News & Events

Carter Center Appoints New Members to Board of Councilors


ATLANTA…The Carter Center, a not-for-profit organization advancing peace and health worldwide, has appointed 21 new members to its Board of Councilors, bringing total membership to 217.

Ivan Allen Chapel at The Carter Center
Photo: The Carter Center

The Board of Councilors is a leadership advisory group that promotes understanding of The Carter Center and its activities among opinion leaders and the broader community. Former U.S. President Jimmy Carter, former First Lady Rosalynn Carter, and staff members give updates about the Center’s activities to board members throughout the year.

“Our Board of Councilors creates an intimate link between The Carter Center, the city of Atlanta, and the state of Georgia by helping us to promote the work and mission of the Center in their communities,” President Carter said.

Since its founding in 1987, the Board of Councilors has been led by some of Atlanta's most distinguished civic leaders, including its current chair, Reade Fahs, chief executive officer, National Vision.

Following are the new councilors:

Mark Adams, managing director, J.P. Morgan Chase & Co.

Dr. Annie Hunt Burriss, CEO, Jinfiniti Diagnostics

Cameron Clayton, general manager, IBM Watson content, The Weather Company

The Honorable Terry Coleman, president, Coleman Consulting

Larry Connolly, founder, Connolly LLC

Stuart Countess, chief administrative officer & VP, Kia Motors Manufacturing Georgia

Travis Hughes, founder & broker in charge, Hughes Investment Partners

David Kirkpatrick, vice president, IMG College Licensing

Keith Mason, principal, KWM Capital Management

Dominic Mazzone, managing director, Mazzone & Associates

Barry McCarthy, executive VP, head of network & security solutions, First Data Corporation

Joe Montgomery, assistant head of school for strategic initiatives, Darlington School

Frank Patterson, president, Pinewood Atlanta Studios

Jerry Perullo, chief information security officer, Intercontinental Exchange

Jim Reed, president, YKK Corporation of America

Teya Ryan, CEO and president, Georgia Public Broadcasting

Jackie Saylor, partner, The Saylor Law Firm

Neeli G. Shah, Esq., The Law Offices of Neeli Shah

Nzinga Shaw, chief diversity and inclusion officer, Atlanta Hawks & Philips Arena

Jim Simpson, president, Georgia Region, Kaiser Foundation Health Plan

Lizanne Thomas, partner-in-charge Southern US region, Jones Day